إصلاح الضرر وحدود المسؤولية الطبية: خسارة للمصاب

إصلاح الضرر هو مصطلح شائع الاستخدام في وسائل الإعلام وهو موضوع سياسي محل نقاش شديد. يشير إصلاح الضرر إلى الحجة القائلة بأن الأضرار يجب أن تكون محدودة في الدعاوى المدنية المرفوعة ضد مقدمي التأمين لأشياء مثل سوء الممارسة الطبية. الحجة هي أنه نظرًا لعدم تحديد سقف للتعويضات في مثل هذه الدعاوى القضائية ، فإنه يعرض مقدمي خدمات التأمين لدفع تسويات ضخمة وبالتالي يرفع تكلفة أقساط التأمين.. لكن, في مقال نشرته مؤخرا بابليك سيتيزن[1], بعنوان "ضبط السجل على حدود المسؤولية الطبية: "إصلاح" الضرر يؤذي المرضى, يكلف المليارات, ويحمي من تسبب ضرر." وتبين أن إصلاح الضرر يضر فقط الضحايا المصابين من الإهمال الطبي ولديه قليل من دون تأثير على تكلفة أقساط التأمين. الدول المقالة في 1999 يقدر معهد الطب أن 98,000 الأمريكيون يموتون من الأخطاء الطبية يمكن الوقاية منها سنويا. وتشير التقديرات إلى أن عدد من صحف هيرست في 2009 قد نمت إلى مذهل 200,000 الأمريكيون. يجادل دعاة إصلاح الضرر الذي يحتمل أن تلك 200,000 قتل الأميركيين في كل عام بسبب الإهمال الطبي يجب أن شفائهم تقتصر على مبلغ معين حتى لو كان لا تعويضا كاملا عن خسائرهم.

كما ذكر أعلاه عدد الأمريكيين الذين يموتون من الأخطاء الطبية يمكن الوقاية منها وأكثر من الضعف في 10 فترة. وبالنظر إلى أن المعلومات التي سيكون من المعقول أن نفترض أن قضايا سوء الممارسة الطبية يجب أن يكون الضعف في تلك الفترة الزمنية، وكذلك. لكن, 2008 وكما هو مسجل بأقل العام على الاطلاق لدعاوى سوء الممارسة الطبية في جميع أنحاء الامريكى. وهذا العدد قد تراجع بشكل مطرد منذ 1990.

في ولاية تكساس الضرر صدرت قوانين الإصلاح في 2003 الحد من المسؤولية عن الأخطاء الطبية. منذ سن تلك القوانين, المدفوعات سوء الممارسة الطبية للمرضى المصابين في ولاية تكساس قد انخفض بنسبة 67%. أكثر من 50% قطرة في المدفوعات الممارسات الخاطئة ما يعادل توقعات لخفض تكاليف التأمين للمواطنين تكساس, ولكن هذا لم يحدث. منذ 2003 تضاعف تكلفة التأمين الصحي في ولاية تكساس، وزاد عدد الدولة للمواطنين غير المؤمن عليهم ما تبقى من أعلى المعدلات في البلاد.

بناءً على هذه المعلومات ، يبدو أنه لا توجد علاقة بين ارتفاع تكاليف التأمين ودعاوى سوء الممارسة المدنية. النتيجة الوحيدة التي يبدو أن إصلاح الضرر ينتج عنها خسارة لضحايا الإهمال الطبي.

استجابة واحدة

التعليقات مغلقة.

Serving:   Seattle    Bellevue    Kent    Everett    Renton    Lynwood    Tacoma    Auburn    Shoreline    Marysville

Blog

Call Us Toll Free

18885870555

  • No Recovery, No Fee
  • Language Translators Are Immediately Available
  • 24 Hour Phone Consultation
  • Same Day Appointments
  • Free In Person or Phone Consultation
  • Home, Office, or Hospital Appointments

Tort Reform and Medical Liability Limits: A Loss for the Injured

Posted by: admin | Posted on: August 31st, 2012 | 1 Comments

Tort Reform is a term that is commonly used in the media and is a very heavily debated political issue. Tort reform refers to the argument that damages should be limited in civil lawsuits brought against insurance providers for such things as medical malpractice. The argument is that because damages are not capped in such lawsuits it exposes insurance providers to paying huge settlements and in turn raises the cost of insurance premiums. However, in a recent article published by PublicCitizen[1], titled “Setting the Record Straight on Medical Liability Limits: Tort “Reform” Hurts Patients, Costs Billions, and Shields Those Who Cause Harm.” it is shown that tort reform only hurts injured victims of medical negligence and has little to no effect on the cost of insurance premiums. The article states that in 1999 the Institute of Medicine estimated that 98,000 Americans die from preventable medical errors each year. That number was estimated by Hearst Newspapers in 2009 to have grown to a staggering 200,000 Americans. Advocates of tort reform argue that those potentially 200,000 Americans killed every year by medical negligence should have their recovery limited to a specified amount even if it does not fully compensated for their losses.

As noted above the number of Americans who die from preventable medical mistakes has more than doubled in a 10 year period. Given that information it would be reasonable to assume that medical malpractice lawsuits must have doubled in that time period as well. However, 2008 was recorded as the lowest year on record for medical malpractice suits across the U.S. and that number has been steadily declining since 1990.

In Texas tort reform laws were passed in 2003 limiting liability for medical malpractice. Since the enactment of those laws, medical malpractice payments to injured patients in Texas have dropped by 67%. The more than 50% drop in malpractice payments would expectedly equate to lower insurance costs for Texas citizens, but that has not happened. Since 2003 the cost of health insurance in Texas has doubled and the state’s number of uninsured citizens has increased remaining the highest in the country.

Based on this information there appears to be no correlation between rising insurance costs and civil malpractice lawsuits. The only result that tort reform appears to produce is a loss for the victims of medical negligence.

Comments (1)


  1. Ali - Reply
    August 18, 2015

    In awe of that anrsew! Really cool!

Leave a Comment